Baked Brown Rice

brown rice

Lately, I have been missing the taste of rice.  Back at home in California, my family used to eat rice basically every other day.  However, here in London I don’t have that luxury.  Without a rice cooker, I find myself at a loss.  Yes, I could cook rice in a pot on the stove, but the results never quite turn out how I intend.  Rice cooked in a pot didn’t have that same fluffiness that I remembered with steamed rice.  I also am haunted by the time I saw my suitemates scorch a pot while cooking rice because they forgot to watch over it.

So when I went to Chinatown last week, I could only pause and stare longingly at all the rice varieties the store offered.  Trudging home empty-handed, I could only think of using pasta as my daily carbohydrate.  I didn’t hate pasta, but I missed rice more.  While riding the elevator to my suite, though, I suddenly thought of something: brown rice.  Brown rice would be my saving grace.

I’ve had this recipe for baked brown rice for a while, but I’ve only used it twice back home.  So far in London, though, it’s the only recipe I trust because it works for both short and medium-grain brown rice.  Alton Brown originally puts butter and salt to flavor the rice, but I have found that you don’t really need anything.  Fool-proof, this recipe literally only requires knowledge of how to boil water.  Well, I suppose knowledge of how to work an oven counts if you include details.

P1010571 copy

Baked Brown Rice

Adapted from Alton Brown

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice, medium or short grain
  • 2 1/2 cups water

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Place the rice into an 8-inch square glass baking dish.  (I’ve also used 9”x5” and a large casserole dish before)
  3. Bring the water just to a boil in a kettle or covered saucepan. Once the water boils, pour it over the rice, stir to combine, and cover the dish tightly with heavy-duty aluminum foil. Bake on the middle rack of the oven for 1 hour.
  4. After 1 hour, remove cover and fluff the rice with a fork. Serve immediately.
One thought on “Baked Brown Rice

Leave a Reply

