QQ Noodles

My penchant for pasta and noodles has probably been pretty apparent so far.  If I had to choose only one type to eat for the rest of my life, though, I would have to pick Chinese hand-pulled noodles.  Made properly, hand-pulled noodles are chewy even if soaked in a broth.  They’re also much more filling than any packaged ramen noodle.

I haven’t come across many hand-pulled noodles placed in the Bay Area.  Some shops claim to have hand-pulled noodles, but the result is often disappointing.  I first tried QQ Noodles with my Dad, and today I was excited to take my sister and my mom there as well.  The name may sound strange to some people, especially online gamers who usually use QQ as slang to insult other players.  The waiters have told me, though, that the letter Q is used because it sounds similar to the Chinese word for cry, which is ku.  The restaurant’s name implies that the food there is so good that it makes you want to shed tears of happiness.

P1010532

The first thing you’ll notice when you are seated is the giant soup spoons.  With spoons this big, you know that you’re probably going to be eating something good.  For sharing purposes, each table is also given a pair of scissors.  The menus are in both English and Chinese as well, with pictures so large that you can’t help but drool.

The first dish I ever had at QQ Noodles was their Jia Jiang Mien, or black bean sauce noodles.  Many of you may attribute this dish to Korean cuisine, but the Chinese have their own version as well.  To me, the Chinese version is often sweeter, and the Jia Jiang Mien at QQ Noodles is by far the least oily that I’ve tried; however, that doesn’t mean it’s oil-free.  The sauce comes in a separate bowl, so you can control how much you eat, but – believe me – you’ll be mixing any extra noodles you have in this sauce.  Usually, the noodles are topped with carrots and zucchini, but this time we were only given zucchini.

P1010539 copy

We also ordered a chow mien.  There are lots of vegetables in this one.  Admittedly, I kept eating so many noodles that by vegetable to noodle ratio near the end of the plate became uneven, which caused a bit of a dilemma, as this meant that I would have to temporarily stop eating the noodles to even out the vegetables.

P1010541 copy

My dad ordered a beef noodle soup, and the portion was huge!  My Dad can eat a lot, but after this one bowl, he was pretty stuffed.  The beef was soft and, as mentioned before, the noodles didn’t become soggy after being soaked in the broth for a while.

P1010544 copy

My mom ordered another noodle soup, called spare rib noodle soup.  The soup and the noodles come separately, because the soup has been simmered for a long time.  The soup had a subtle ginger flavor and didn’t feel too heavy.  Any extra noodles were dipped into the black bean sauce (it’s that good).

P1010543 copy

Overall, the prices were reasonable as well, with every dish ranging between seven to nine dollars.  Given the portions and quality, I almost felt the need to cry tears of joy myself.

UPDATE:  The location that I originally reviewed, in Fremont, is now closed.  It’s a shame, but I’ve included the address for the Cupertino location instead.

9/10
QQ Noodles
10889 S Blaney Ave
Cupertino, CA 945014
USA
www.qqnoodle.com

Hours
Mon-Fri 11:30am – 3:00pm, 5:30pm – 9:30pm
Sat-Sun 11:30am – 3:00pm, 5:00pm – 9:30pm

Leave a Reply

