The Breakfast Club

You can never have too much of a good thing, right?  Well, at least that’s the conclusion my friends and I reached regarding brunch.  Specifically, brunch at The Breakfast Club.  Every time I have visited, I convince all my friends with me to order something different, so I’m almost embarrassed to admit that I’ve tried almost the entire menu.  I’ve reviewed a pop-up version of The Breakfast Club before, but I figured that an actual location deserved it’s time in the spotlight as well.  Basically, I think it’s time everyone joined the club.

P1030707

This time, I went to The Breakfast Club with just one other friend.  Our time in London is sadly almost over, so we wanted to visit our favorite places at least one last time.  Good brunch places that are also reasonably affordable are truly hard to come by in any part of the world.  It was a good thing that we arrived early; The Breakfast club always has a considerable line going out the door.  Even with two people, we had to wait about 20 minutes for a table, and by the time we left the line was twice as long.  We went to The Breakfast Club in Soho, which is quite small, so be prepared to get cozy with your neighbors.

We started off with some drinks – all the other previous times we were so busy stuffing our faces that we always forgot the liquids.  My friend ordered a Blue Monday (£4.30) – a smoothie made with blueberries, strawberries, and apples.  It was surprisingly light and refreshing, which was probably good considering we were going to eat a heavy meal.

P1030701

I ordered the hot chocolate (£3), which was thankfully not watered down.  It came in an adorable cup, and I was afraid that I would finish it before my food even arrived.  I love the addition of real marshmallows, but I feel that the hot chocolate, as with all the drinks on the menu, was on the expensive side.

P1030703

To share, my friend and I first ordered The All American (£10).  It comes with 2 pancakes, 2 eggs (we asked for poached), 2 sausages, home-style fried potatoes, and bacon.  It was classic diner food, except executed much better.  The eggs were a bit inconsistent, though: mine was perfectly runny while my friend’s had solidified.  The flavor of the spicy sausages, fatty bacon, and sweet pancakes ended up mixing on our plates as we ate, but we didn’t care.  Our excuse is always, “We’ll be walking it off later.”  I’m also particularly biased towards their home-fries.

P1030704

We also ordered the Breakfast Burrito (£9), and it was massive.  Stuffed with chorizo, scrambled egg, roasted peppers, and Portobello mushrooms, the burrito looked as if it would explode upon cutting.  On the side, there was also generous amounts of sour cream, guacamole, and a spicy salsa.  The burrito itself was actually too spicy for me – I’m a wimp when it comes to any form of spice – but it was so delicious that I just let my mouth burn.  After eating just half and before I had even started on my portion of the All American, I was already starting to get full.

P1030705

If I had to choose, I would say that the pancakes at The Breakfast Club are still the best – whether you get them savory or sweet.  But there are still a ton of other great options on the menu.  Trust me, though, definitely bring at least one friend if you go because, like me, you’ll want to convince them to share with you.

8.5/10
The Breakfast Club
31 Camden Passage
London N1 8EA, UK
(5 locations throughout London)
http://www.thebreakfastclubcafes.com/

Hours
Monday to Wednesday    8am – 10pm
Thursday and Friday      8am – 11pm
Saturday               9am – 11pm
Sunday                9am – 10pm

Leave a Reply

