Blueberry and White Chocolate Scones

blueberryscone

These scones were made out of regret because I had given up my plans for afternoon tea to go visit a football (soccer) stadium. When I was studying abroad in London, the school organized a picture scavenger hunt. Teams were given transportation day passes as a part of the game. I can’t remember the prize, probably a gift card, but I do remember that my friends and I signed up to take part solely for the day passes. We completely disregarded the scavenger hunt and took the opportunity instead to check places off our bucket lists.

After a visit to Abbey Road, we all decided to split up. One of my friends, a huge football fan, wanted to go to Wembley Stadium, located a good 30 minutes from Abbey Road and a good hour from Hyde Park, where I wanted to go. He convinced me to accompany him by guilt-tripping me: “It’s been my dream, and I’m going to be going into the army soon.” Also, he promised that he would go to afternoon tea with me after Hyde Park. After an extra-long bus ride, our passes didn’t apply for the zone where the stadium was located, we arrived at the stadium, took the tour, and my friend had his fanboy moments.

We eventually made it to Hype Park, as well as Regent’s Park, but we never went to afternoon tea, so the next day I made these blueberry and white chocolate scones as a way to compensate. They were a delicious snack while I searched up all the names of the players’ jerseys my friend made me take pictures of him with – multiple times. He even contemplated taking some of the stadium’s soil.

P1030613

These scones are tender. White chocolate, being very sweet, paired nicely with the tart blueberries. Be careful when you bite into one, though; the blueberries tend to burst all over the place. I was worried that the addition of sour cream in place of some of the butter would yield scones that were too dense and not flaky, but these still managed to mimic the same texture. Watch the cooking time on these as well; I ended up having to bake mine longer than the recommended time.

P1050952

I’m not an association football fan, but I promised that I would be a Liverpool supporter in honor of my friend. And I guess if I ever do watch a Liverpool match, I’ll be sure to make these scones as well.

 

Blueberry and White Chocolate Scones

Found at Feeding My Boyfriend
Makes 6-8 scones

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 4 tbsps unsalted butter
  • ½ cup milk
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • ½ cup white chocolate
  • ½ cup fresh blueberries
  • A pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375° F (200° C).
  1. Rub together the butter and flour with your fingers until blended, resembling coarse crumbs. Then mix in the brown sugar, baking powder and salt.
  1. Gently mix in the blueberries and white chocolate, making sure not to burst the blueberries.
  1. In a separate bowl mix together the sour cream and milk. Once blended, fold this liquid into the flour mixture until it becomes dough-like. Do not overmix. Less mixing results in more soft flaky scones.
  1. Shape the dough into 6-8 smaller balls and place on a baking tray covered with foil. Sprinkle the tops with a bit of brown sugar for added texture.
  1. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned.
  1. Leave to cool for 5-10 minutes and then serve.
Leave a Reply

