Local NYC Stores that Ship Nationally

With most of us engaging in social distancing, I thought it might be helpful to list some of the stores based in NYC that I usually frequent – both online and in person.  Online browsing and shopping is now the norm, so, if possible, please check if one of your local stores might have something you need or want before purchasing from a larger retailer.

Bird Brooklyn

I’m convinced that all the cool girls in Brooklyn wearing Jesse Kamm pants bought them either thrifted or from Bird Brooklyn.  The fashion brands carried here are fun yet comfortable, with a focus on independent and/or sustainable brands.  Because it’s an independent store, I also often find that Bird discounts brands that may never see price decreases at department stores.  For example, there’s some really good deals on Woolrich parkas on the site right now.

oo35mm

If you’re into Asian beauty, then you know.  The gals who work here are very knowledgeable and patient.  This is the only place (other than if I’m in Japan), that I will buy face sunscreen.  It’s always good to take some time to practice self-care, so feel free to try out some new masks or buy a lighter moisturizer now that spring is here.  I’m always surprised at how quick shipping is, and the store is often generous with samples.

the rice factory

I eat rice enough that the type of rice matters to me.  When there was a shortage of my usual brand one day at my local store, I discovered the rice factory.  the rice factory imports rice directly from Japan, so it carriers varieties that many U.S. consumers probably haven’t heard of.  What’s more, the price is comparable to any koshihikari (high grade) rice sold in your Asian grocery store.  That’s because the rice factory imports the grains and mills them at its own facility.  Late last month, I was running low on rice, so I placed an order for my usual 15lb bag – the delivery came within two business days.

Farm to People

I discovered Farm to People years ago when the founder had to personally answer all phone inquiries and the site often gave random perks such as same-day delivery on an Uber (not UberEats, delivery using Uber).  It’s been fun watching the store expand its offerings.  I buy all my holiday gifts from Farm to People at the Bryant Park holiday market, and the curated products never disappoint.  Farm to People offers grocery boxes from local producers but also pantry items from independent makers who often produce their products in small batches.  My favorite is the kaya from Auria’s Malaysian Kitchen.

Kitchen Arts & Letters

Kitchen Arts & Letters is a bookstore that focuses exclusively on food and dining.  Chefs and food industry professionals are said to frequent the store.  I used to live within walking distance to Kitchen Arts & Letters, and my only regret during that time was that I didn’t visit more often.  It’s where I would pick up my monthly copy of Lucky Peach (RIP) and then pursue the vast selection of cookbooks that I knew I couldn’t keep in my then 8′ x 10′ room.  The employees are also knowledgeable, so if you’re not sure what cookbook to tackle next, they are always full of ideas.

Leave a comment